Algae Biotechnology & Bioenergy
Bielefeld University > biologie > Algae Biotechnology & Bioenergy

Consortium Bioenergy OWL


The Consortium Bioenergy OWL was officially founded in November 2007 with the signature of a Memorandum of Understanding (MoU) between the founding members.

Bioenergy Consortium
Signature of the Memorandum of Understanding on November 19th, 2007.

In November 2011, the technical center for bioenergy research was officially opened as an affiliated laboratory with the Center for Biotechnology (CeBiTec) of Bielefeld University. It was built to provide the space and technical requirements to expand ongoing projects and realize new research work in the field of bioenergy research & application.

Technical center for bioenergy research

Technical Center for Bioenergy Research

Consortium members

University of Bielefeld - The Center for Biotechnology (CeBiTec)

  • Prof. Dr. Dietz - Biochemistry and Plant Physiology
  • Prof. Dr. Eichenlaub - Gene Technology and Microbiology
  • Prof. Dr. Flaschel - Fermentation Engineering
  • Prof. Dr. Heberle - Biophysical Chemistry
  • Prof. Dr. Kaltschmidt - Cell Biology
  • Prof. Dr. Kruse - Algae Biotechnology
  • Prof. Dr. Niehaus - Proteome and Metabolome Research
  • Prof. Dr. Pühler - Genetics
  • Prof. Dr. Sewald - Bioorganic Chemistry, Chemical Biology
  • Prof. Dr. Weisshaar - Genome Research

University of Applied Sciences

  • Prof. Dr. Gudermann - Biotechnology
  • Prof. Dr. Schumacher - Electrical Engineering


  • Stadtwerke Bielefeld

Consortium Speaker

  • Prof. Dr. O. Kruse