skip to main contentskip to main menuskip to footer Universität Bielefeld Play
  • Medical School OWL

    Graphic of the building R.1 of the Medical School OWL
    © Universität Bielefeld


In addition to regular reporting and consultations in the university committees (University Council, Senate, Rectorate) and in the associated commissions, the process of establishing the Medical School OWL is discussed and coordinated in other internal and external committees.

On June 27th 2018 the constituent meeting of the Medical Advisory Council took place. It is a group of external experts in the field of university medicine. It is set up to ensure professional and external competence in the establishment of the new Medical Faculty at Bielefeld University. For example, it supports Bielefeld University in appointing the first professors and advises on conceptual issues. The members were appointed by the university and the Ministry of Culture and Science.

Chairman of the advisory board is Professor Dr. Hans-Jochen Heinze, Director of the University Clinic for Neurology at Otto-von-Guericke University Magdeburg. Deputy Chair is PD Dr. med. Ulrike Schauseil-Zipf (University Hospital Cologne, former Senior Physician and Lecturer at the Clinic for Pediatric and Adolescent Medicine).

The other members of the Medical Advisory Board are (state June 2020)

  • Professor Dr. med. Pascal Berberat (Technical University Munich, Chair of Medical Didactics and Educational Research)
  • Professor Dr. med. Peter Brockerhoff (University Medicine Mainz, Gynecology, Emeritus)
  • Professor Dr. Sabine Doering-Manteuffel (President University of Augsburg)
  • Professor Dr. med. Martin Fischer (University of Munich Clinic, Director of the Institute for Didactics and Education Research)
  • Professor Dr. med. Sigrid Harendza (University Medical Center Hamburg-Eppendorf, Head of Education Research Section)
  • Professor Dr. med. Stefan Herzig (President Technical University of Cologne)
  • Professor Dr. Ingo Just (Hannover Medical School, Center for Pharmacology and Toxicology)
  • Professor Dr. med. Martina Kadmon (Founding Dean of the Medical Faculty, University of Augsburg)
  • Professorin Dr. med Hanna Kaduszkiewicz (University Hospital Schleswig-Holstein, Director of the Institute for General Medicine)
  • Professor Dr. rer. nat. Heyo Kroemer (University of Göttingen, Dean of the Medical Faculty)
  • Professor Dr. rer. nat. Frank Nürnberger (Medical Faculty, University Hospital Frankfurt, Deputy Director Anatomy)
  • Professor Dr. med. Simone Scheithauer (University Medicine Göttingen, Central Department of Hospital Hygiene and Infectiology)
  • Professor Dr. med. Claudia Spies (Charité University Medicine Berlin, Director of the Clinic for Anaesthesiology and Intensive Care Medicine)
  • Dr. rer. pol. Kerstin Stachel (University Medicine Magdeburg, Commercial Director)
  • Dr. med. Michaela Weishoff-Houben (RWTH Aachen Medical Faculty, Senior Physician at the Institute of Occupational and Social Medicine, Deputy Equal Opportunities Officer)
  • Professor Dr. med. Hans Henning Wetz (University Hospital Münster, Emeritus Ordinarius for Technical Orthopedics)

The External Advisory Council is made up of representatives of the state government (Ministry of Culture and Science and Ministry of Labor, Health and Social Affairs) and various regional institutions.

The External Advisory Council is intended to be a body that focuses on the important question of how the medical care situation in the region, especially in rural areas, can be secured.


  • Christel Bayer, Head of Department, Ministry of Labor, Health and Social Affairs NRW
  • Pit Clausen, Lord Mayor City of Bielefeld
  • Gregor Jorasch, Head of Department, Ministry of Culture and Science NRW
  • Eva Lück-Roeder, Group Leader Ministry of Culture and Science NRW
  • Wolf Dieter Meier-Scheuven, president of the IHK Ostwestfalen to Bielefeld
  • Manfred Müller, District Administrator Paderborn, Member of the Board of the Association for the Promotion of Medical Education and Care OWL
  • Dr. Gerhard Nordmann, Chairman of the Association of Statutory Health Insurance Physicians of Westphalia-Lippe
  • Dr. med. Klaus Reinhardt, Vice President of the Medical Association of Westphalia-Lippe
  • Theodor Windhorst, President of the Medical Association of Westphalia-Lippe

The Steering Committee for Medicine is composed of representatives from other faculties and other committees of Bielefeld University and serves to discuss the development status of the project. The Steering Committee is usually convened twice a year. Composition of the Steering Committee:

  • Deans of all faculties of Bielefeld University
  • Rectorate
  • Founding Dean
  • Managing Director of the Medical Faculty
  • Scientific Staff Council
  • Staff Council
  • Equality Office
  • Representation Body of severely handicapped persons
  • AStA

back to top